FAIRBURN SCHOOL NEWSLETTER



NEWSLETTER NUMBER 9 - 2019

Term 2, Week 8

Wednesday 19th June 2019

Kia ora, Malo e Lelei, Talofa Lava, Kia Orana, Ni sa bula, Mauri, Suosday, Sat Sri Akaal, Tajba Filghodu, Xin Chao, Ni Hao, Guten Tag, Sawadee, Kumusta, Fakaalofa lahi atu, Maith, warm greetings to you all.

WELCOME TO OUR NEW BOARD OF TRUSTEES

A HUGE thank you to all of the 2019 candidates and to all of you who took the time out to vote. We are very excited to announce out new board of trustees are as follows:

Neru Leavasa Adrienne Vickers Solomone Mahe Molini Puleiku Telua Donna Wynd

Principal: Paula Passfield
Staff Rep: TBC

Board Secretary: Lana Shaw

We look forward to working side by side with our Board. If you have any queries you

would like to forward the board, the best way to reach them is via email:

bot@fairburn.school.nz

WELL DONE GIRLS

Last Tuesday a group of year 5 and how it h time. During tournament in Mangere. They played against different schools and had an amazing day! The girls did very well in the tournament and showed great sportsmanship.



LE AUTE!

In week 6 the Junior School were treated to a Samoan performance in the hall by Room 8 (with thanks to Mrs Bayley and Miss Lesoa) They performed 'Le Aute'



All were thoroughly entertained! THANK YOU Room 8.

CHELSEA SUGAR FACTORY

Room 25 and 26 were very lucky to go on a school trip last Wednesday.

The students got to see how the Chelsea Sugar factory turned natural sugar cane into the sugar that we eat. They also learnt about the history of the factory and how it has changed over time. During the trip we got to make our own delicious chocolate chip cookies!



Thank you to our parent helpers - It was a great day. The rest of year 5/6 will be visiting over the next few weeks.

PRINCIPAL AWARDS

Congratulations to the following children:



Erica Tupe-Smith, Maria Sani, Kaushik Muni, Arav Gill, Priyanna Krishna, Uwan Prasad, Lana Ngaro, Pelenaise Fauonuku, Tatiana Hafoka, Aria Allen, Patrick Ah Sue, Xiao Drei Omido, Lui Leauanae, Aisea Tuipulotu, Junior Tupou, TJ Taioalo, Kaden Harris, William Breen, Sela Ofanoa, Blessing Fatu, Litea Vuni, Chan Paeu, Victory Faga Tuiloma, Hillary Chea, Amanaki Pakalani, Shaanvi Kumar, Zayley Maeva, Matthais Takai, Shanaya Bilas, Vika Noa, Malia Fakaosi, Arish Hussein, Elina Halaifonua, Dominic Cook, Isra Ghumkhor, Danz Leafe, Nevaeh Strickland, Fisiihoi Tapaatoutai, Timothy Pone, Bianca Fernandez, Zameel Ali, Italia Kaivananga, Jorjah Palalagi, Piuleini Taufa, Ishita Rawat, Tuakura Solia, Opeti Fosita, Kanaiya Lal, Elias Puni, Dellin Weilert, Emosi Nabenu, Jevarhn Kaitai, Raaziq Hussain and Sanclair Otuhouma.

Regards

Paula Passfield

Principal

COMMUNITY NOTICES 105 is the number for Police non-emergencies. 111 is the emergency number for Police, Fire and Ambulance. You can use 105 to report: theft in a public place, theft from a car, intentional property damage, shoplifting, lost property or to get an update on a report already made or add information to an existing report.





MON 1ST —FRI 5TH JULY

MATARIKI WEEK

WEDNESDAY 3RD JULY

REPORTS GO HOME

FRIDAY 5TH JULY

LAST DAY OF TERM 2

2019 DATES

TERM 2

29TH APRIL- 5TH JULY

TERM 3

22ND JULY- 27TH SEPTEMBER

TERM 4

14TH OCTOBER- 18TH DECEMBER

REMINDER

2020

OUT OF ZONE ENROLMENT DEADLINE IS 15TH OCTOBER

